Connect with us


Participants in NJPW G1 Climax 26



From July 18 to August 14, NJPW presents G1 Climax 26 where twenty heavyweights are split into two blocks, (Block A and Block B with ten wrestlers in each block), battle it out in a round-robin tournament to see who will get one step closer of becoming IWGP Heavyweight Champion.

The format of G1 Climax is as follows:  The top scorers in each block advance to the finals. During the round-robin portion, a win is worth two points, a draw is worth one, and a loss zero; all matches have a 30-minute time limit.

If the IWGP Heavyweight Champion wins, they will win a G1 Climax trophy. If someone else wins who is not the IWGP Heavyweight Champion, not only they will win a G1 Climax trophy, but they will also get a briefcase that will give them a title shot at the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom.

Here are the participants who are in G1 Climax 26:

Block A:

Togi Makabe

Satoshi Kojima

Tomohiro Ishii

Hirooki Goto

Bad Luck Fale

Naomichi Marufuji

Tama Tonga


Kazuchika Okada

Hiroshi Tanahashi


Block B:

Katsuyori Shibata

Yuji Nagata

Tomoaki Honma

Michael Elgin

Toru Yano


Tetsuya Naito

Kenny Omega

Katsuhiko Nakajima


Author’s Note: Despite the losses of AJ Styles, Shinsuke Nakamura, Guns and Gallows, and Kota Ibushi, this looks to be a pretty strong list of participants this year. The matches should be good to excellent this year. I’m looking forward to it.

Continue Reading