Connect with us

From July 17 to August 13, NJPW presents G1 Climax 27 where twenty heavyweights are split into two blocks, (Block A and Block B with ten wrestlers in each block), battle it out in a round-robin tournament to see who will get one step closer of becoming IWGP Heavyweight Champion.

The format of G1 Climax is as follows:  The top scorers in each block advance to the finals. During the round-robin portion, a win is worth two points, a draw is worth one, and a loss zero; all matches have a 30-minute time limit.

If the IWGP Heavyweight Champion wins, they will win a G1 Climax trophy. If someone else wins who is not the IWGP Heavyweight Champion, not only they will win a G1 Climax trophy, but they will also get a briefcase that will give them a title shot at the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom.

Here are the participants who are in G1 Climax 27:

Block A:

Hiroshi Tanahashi

Togi Makabe

Tomohiro Ishii

Hirooki Goto


Bad Luck Fale

Yuji Nagata

Zack Sabre Jr.

Kota Ibushi

Tetsuya Naito


Block B:

Kazuchika Okada

Toru Yano

Satoshi Kojima

Michael Elgin

Juice Robinson

Tama Tonga



Minoru Suzuki

Kenny Omega

Author’s Note: A great list of participants for this year’s G1 Climax. Can’t wait to see all of the matches this year. It should be amazing.

Continue Reading